Erwin Chemerinksy

Dean and Professor, UC Berkeley School of Law
Founding Chair of the Initiative
Erwin Chemerinsky is Dean and Professor at UC Berkeley School of Law. Prior to becoming Dean of Berkeley Law, he was the founding Dean and Distinguished Professor of Law, and Raymond Pryke Professor of First Amendment Law, at UC Irvine School of Law, with a joint appointment in Political Science. Previously, he was the Alston and Bird Professor of Law and Political Science at Duke University, and before that was a professor at the University of Southern California Law School, including as the Sydney M. Irmas Professor of Public Interest Law, Legal Ethics, and Political Science. Dean Chemerinsky is one of the most cited legal scholars in the country.

Anne Bloom

Anne Bloom

Executive Director, Civil Justice Research Initiative
Anne Bloom has a distinguished record of accomplishment in both academia and public interest law. Before becoming the Executive Director of the Civil Justice Research Initiative, she was the Director of Public Programs for Equal Justice Works in Washington, D.C. and Associate Director of the Civil Justice Program at Loyola Law School in Los Angeles. Prior to that, she was Associate Dean for Research and Professor of Law at McGeorge Law School where she taught courses in litigation, law and politics, and public interest law. Before becoming a professor, Anne was a staff attorney at Public Justice in Washington, D.C. She holds both a J.D. and a Ph.D. in political science and has authored many articles on civil justice-related subjects. Her most recent publication is a co-edited volume with David M. Engel and Michael McCann, Injury and Injustice: The Cultural Politics of Harm and Redress (Cambridge University Press, 2018).

Roman Silberfeld

Founding Chair, Advisory Board
Mr. Silberfeld serves as the managing partner of Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P.’s Los Angeles office, and is a member of the firm’s Executive Board. Mr. Silberfeld has served numerous times as court-appointed lead counsel of litigation committees in multi-party, complex litigation. In Celador International, Ltd. v. The Walt Disney Company, he represented the creator of the “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?” game show in a breach of contract lawsuit against Disney and its subsidiaries, ultimately obtaining a federal jury award of nearly $319 million. Mr. Silberfeld’s professional recognitions include being named one of the“500 Leading Lawyers in America” by Lawdragon, a “Top 100 Lawyers in California” by the Los Angeles Daily Journal, and a “Who’s Who In L.A. Law” by The Los Angeles Business Journal. He was named a “Power Lawyer” by The Hollywood Reporter and a “Winning Litigator” in The National Law Journal. He was named one of the “California Attorneys of the Year” by California Lawyer and given the “Excellence in Advocacy Award” by the Beverly Hills Bar Association. He has been named a Southern California Super Lawyer since 2004. Mr. Silberfeld is currently a board member and former Chair of Public Counsel, the nation’s largest pro bono law firm. Loyola Law School named Mr. Silberfeld “Trial Lawyer of the Year,” and Public Counsel awarded him with its Founders Award for his commitment to justice, an award only awarded five times in the past 45 years.

Shauhin Talesh

Faculty Director, Civil Justice Research Initiative, UC Irvine
Shauhin Talesh is an interdisciplinary scholar whose work spans law, sociology, and political science. His research interests include the empirical study of law and business organizations, dispute resolution, consumer protection, insurance, and the relationship between law and social inequality. Professor Talesh’s most recent empirical study addresses the intersection between organizations, risk, and consumer protection laws, focusing on private organizations’ responses to and constructions of laws designed to regulate them, consumers’ mobilization of their legal rights and the legal cultures of private organizations. Professor Talesh’s scholarship has appeared in multiple law and peer-reviewed social science journals including Law and Society Review and has won multiple awards in Sociology, Political Science and Law & Society.